A smart ring tracks sleep, heart rate, heart-rate variability and recovery from your finger, with no screen and a battery that lasts days rather than hours. In 2026 the choice comes down to three things: how small and refined you want it, how long it runs between charges, and whether you will pay a monthly subscription. Here are the six best smart rings for men, from Oura's new Ring 5 to a $150 option with no fees.
| 01 | 01Oura Ring 5 (Silver)Best overall | Shop → |
| 02 | 02RingConn Gen 3Best no-subscription ring | Shop → |
| 03 | 03Oura Ring 4 (Silver)Best value oura | Shop → |
| 04 | 04RingConn Gen 2Best battery for the money | Shop → |
| 05 | 05RingConn Gen 2 AirBest budget | Shop → |
| 06 | 06Amazfit Helio RingBest entry price | Shop → |
How Smart Rings Work — and What They Can't Do
Optical sensors on the inside of the ring shine light into the skin of your finger to measure heart rate, heart-rate variability (HRV) and blood-oxygen saturation; an accelerometer tracks movement. From those signals the app estimates sleep stages, recovery, stress and activity. Those are estimates: a ring cannot see brain activity, so it cannot stage sleep the way a sleep-lab study (polysomnography) does.
Smart rings are wellness devices, not medical ones. RingConn's sleep apnea monitoring is the best example: it can flag breathing disruptions overnight, but when RingConn launched the Gen 2 it said it was still pursuing FDA clearance for the feature (RingConn Gen 2 launch announcement, 2024). If a ring suggests you stop breathing at night, take that to a doctor — only a sleep study can diagnose sleep apnea.
Subscription or Not?
This is the biggest cost difference. Oura includes the first month of membership for new members, then charges $5.99 a month, and the membership is tied to your account rather than the ring. Over the first two years that adds about $138 to the price. RingConn's Gen 3 and Gen 2 have no subscription fees, the Gen 2 Air has no fee for its standard features, and Amazfit says the Helio has no fees.
Size Before You Buy
Every ring here uses its own sizing — not jewelry sizes — and Oura says Ring 5 sizing differs even from earlier Oura rings. Order the brand's sizing kit first and wear the sample on your index finger for a day. Our links open one size of each ring; choose yours on the listing.
Best Smart Rings for Men 2026 — The Rankings
1. Oura Ring 5 (Silver) ($399) — BEST OVERALL
Oura launched Ring 5 in May 2026 (Oura Ring 5 launch coverage, May 2026) and it is the most refined ring here: Oura says it is 40% smaller than the previous generation, with an updated all-titanium design, larger re-engineered sensors and 6 to 9 days of battery life. It tracks more than 50 health metrics across sleep, activity, stress and heart health, and connects with over 40 apps including Strava. The catch is the membership: $5.99 a month after the first month. The silver ring is about $399, sold by Amazon; other finishes cost more. It is HSA/FSA eligible.
2. RingConn Gen 3 ($349) — BEST NO-SUBSCRIPTION RING
RingConn's Gen 3 is the ring for men who refuse subscriptions: every feature is available in the app with no fee. It runs up to 14 days per charge (RingConn notes this varies with size and features), adds discreet haptic vibration alerts on your finger, carries an IP68 water-resistance rating for swimming, and tracks sleep, heart rate, HRV, SpO₂, stress and sleep apnea. New for Gen 3 are vascular-load trends after a one-time calibration. It comes with a charging case. About $349, sold by RingConn's official store.
3. Oura Ring 4 (Silver) ($349) — BEST VALUE OURA
Ring 5's predecessor is still an excellent ring for less: all titanium, up to 8 days of battery life, Oura's Smart Sensing, the same 50-plus metrics and integrations with Apple Health, Google Health Connect and Strava. It uses the same $5.99-a-month membership after the first month. About $349 in silver, sold by Amazon and HSA/FSA eligible.
4. RingConn Gen 2 ($299) — BEST BATTERY FOR THE MONEY
RingConn's Gen 2 lasts 10 to 12 days per charge — larger sizes last longest — and RingConn says its charging case stretches that past 150 days. It weighs about 2 grams, is water resistant to 100 meters, needs no subscription, and tracks activity, sleep, stress, heart rate, HRV, blood oxygen and sleep apnea indicators. About $299, sold by RingConn's official store.
5. RingConn Gen 2 Air ($199) — BEST BUDGET
The Gen 2 Air is RingConn's thinnest ring — a 2 mm profile and 2.5 grams — with up to 10 days of battery, a full charge in 90 minutes and IP68 water resistance tested to 100 meters. Standard features need no subscription, and it tracks sleep, heart rate, stress, blood oxygen and activity. About $199, sold by RingConn's official store.
6. Amazfit Helio Ring ($150) — BEST ENTRY PRICE
Amazfit's Helio is the cheapest way into a quality smart ring. It is made of titanium alloy, tracks sleep stages and HRV, and adds an EDA (electrodermal activity) sensor alongside HRV for stress tracking, plus heart rate, blood oxygen and VO₂ max through the Zepp app — with no subscription. About $150, sold by Amazon.
Comparison Table
| RING | BATTERY | SUBSCRIPTION | WATER | PRICE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oura Ring 5 | 6–9 days | $5.99/mo after month 1 | Not stated on listing | $399 |
| RingConn Gen 3 | Up to 14 days | None | IP68 | $349 |
| Oura Ring 4 | Up to 8 days | $5.99/mo after month 1 | Water resistant | $349 |
| RingConn Gen 2 | 10–12 days | None | To 100 m | $299 |
| RingConn Gen 2 Air | Up to 10 days | None for standard features | IP68, to 100 m | $199 |
| Amazfit Helio | Not stated on listing | None | Water resistant | $150 |
Which Ring Should You Buy?
- Best experience, budget no object: Oura Ring 5.
- No subscription, ever: RingConn Gen 3 — or Gen 2 if you want the longest battery for less.
- Oura app on a budget: Oura Ring 4.
- Under $200: RingConn Gen 2 Air or Amazfit Helio.
Pair the sleep data with your recovery routine — see our cold plunge and home sauna guides.
FAQ
Do smart rings need a subscription?
Oura does: the first month is included for new members, then it is $5.99 a month. RingConn's Gen 3 and Gen 2 and Amazfit's Helio have no subscription, and the RingConn Gen 2 Air has no fee for its standard features.
Are smart rings accurate for sleep tracking?
They are good at total sleep time and heart-rate trends, but sleep stages are estimates from movement and heart signals. Only a lab sleep study measures brain activity directly.
Can a smart ring detect sleep apnea?
RingConn's rings monitor breathing-related indicators overnight, but the feature is a wellness tool, not an FDA-cleared diagnosis. See a doctor if it flags problems.
How long does a smart ring battery last?
On these listings: Oura Ring 5 lasts 6 to 9 days, Oura Ring 4 up to 8, RingConn Gen 2 Air up to 10, RingConn Gen 2 10 to 12 and RingConn Gen 3 up to 14.
Smart ring or smartwatch?
A ring is better for sleep and all-day wear because there is no screen to charge daily or wake you up. A watch is better for workouts, notifications and GPS.
A ring tells you how you recovered; our massage gun and compression boots guides cover tools that help you recover.
Sources: Oura Ring 5 launch coverage, May 2026; RingConn Gen 2 launch announcement, 2024
Related guide: best smartwatch for men.

